SA passes resolution against attack on Hamid Mir

Share this on:

KARACHI: Sindh Assembly (SA) on Monday passed a resolution against the attack on senior journalist and anchorperson Hamid Mir. Sindh Information Minister Sharjeel Memon, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) parliamentary leader Syed Sardar Ahmed, Nand Kumar Goklani and Nusrat Sehar Abbasi of Pakistan Muslim League (F) and Syed Hafeezuddin of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) tabled the resolution. They condemned the attack and profoundly appreciated his services towards journalism and democracy. The House also prayed for his early recovery.

The journalists in SA also boycotted the session in protest over assassination attack on Hamid Mir. In a meeting held in pressroom they passed the resolution against the incident and termed the attack on freedom of press and expression. They demanded government should provide them protection and those involved in the action should be arrested and punished.

Sharjeel Memon, Minister for fisheries Jam Khan Shaoro and MPA Nasir Hussain Shah said Sindh government has already started investigation into the matter. Sindh government is to write a letter to Centre, seeking its help regarding the geo-fencing and telephonic data. At the crime scene two cameras were installed. One was not working whereas second one could not make the footage because of link down.

Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani said under the supervision of judges a high-level committee should be formed to investigate the matter regarding attack on Hamid Mir.

Daily Times

About the author:

. Follow us on Twitter / Facebook.

Give your comments!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.